DIY Faux Barn Wood Sign

Pallett Wood015_editBarnwood is all the rage these days. But, one of these days we are gonna run out of old barn wood to craft with because, really, how much “vintage barnwood” could there possibly be in the South? I agree, probably quite a bit, BUT – all of us crafting ladies are bound to use it all up at some point. SO, without further ado… I give you my solution to the impending barnwood-mageddon…FAKE IT! We can take brand spanking new wood and make it look worn and weathered. No high winds and thunderstorms are needed, just some simple acrylic craft paint, a dry paint brush, sand paper and your favorite color stain.

You’ll Need:

  1. (2) 1 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. Boards
  2. Circular saw or comparable
  3. Drill & 1.5inch screws
  4. Ruler and Pen
  5. 3 or 4 inch wide paint brush
  6. Beige, warm white, & black acrylic craft paint
  7. Artist paintbrushes for lettering
  8. Masking tape
  9. Dark wood stain & rag to apply
  10. Fine grit sandpaper

Alright – let’s do this thing:

Pallett Wood001
First, I started out with 2, plain jane, brand spanking new, 1 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. pieces of lumber.

 

 

 

 

 

Pallett Wood002_edit

 

Then, with a circular saw, I cut 4 pieces at 24 inches for the front of the sign & 2 pieces at 21 inches to hold it all together.

 

 

 

 

Pallett Wood003

 

After all of the wood was cut, I laid it out like so, in preparation to attach it all together.

 

 

 

Pallett Wood005

 

Next, I laid the two 21-inch boards on each end, perpendicular to the rest of the boards & centered them. Using the 1.5 inch screws, I screwed the back boards to the front. *It’s important to use 1.5 inch screws so they don’t go all the way through to the front of the sign & its also important to use 2 screws per front board so theres no sliding.

Pallett Wood007

 

After everything is attached together, it’s time to grab the large paint brush and the beige craft paint. With the brush still dry, dip just the ends of the bristles into the paint and messily stroke it on. You want there to still be wood grain peeking through. Once the paint has dried, take the sandpaper and rough up the just painted surface -going with the grain of the wood.

Pallett Wood008Pallett Wood009

 

Lastly,  I rubbed the dark wood stain over the surface with a rag *don’t forget the edges* and then let it dry overnight.

 

VOILA! Beautiful faux barnwood in a snap!  You are more than welcome to do whatever you want with your new barnwood sign but here’s what I did with mine!

Pallett Wood011

 

First I designed the way I wanted the sign to look in Adobe Illustrator. I did this because sometimes things look better in my head then they actually do on paper! Then I took my craft paint and went to work on the large lettering. *You could use a stencil if you wanted to, but personally I don’t use them because I think they are a pain in the butt!

Pallett Wood013

 

After the large lettering was painted and dried (with a blowdryer because I am not patient enough for air drying), I taped off the top and the bottom of the 4th board in order to help with the size of the lettering. *Think “paint between the lines”*

 

Pallett Wood014_edit

 

Starting with the middle letter and painting out (a trick I learned in design school), I roughly painted the “established in” lettering and then went back and finessed the lines and serifs.

 

 

Pallett Wood015

 

Now its your turn!  Hurry it up, We’re Burning daylight! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

