An Open Letter to My Little Boy

Open Letter

As I lay here at 2am watching you sleep. I am overcome by the intense burning love I have for you. I already see so much personality radiating from that tiny body of yours. You flipped over for the first time today and I couldn’t help but cry. You were so proud of yourself. I love watching you grow. You make my days worth living & you have taught me how to feel again.

As you continue to grow I want so many things for you. I want you to have immense joy but not without some pain because pain makes you be thankful for the good times. I want you to have many belly laughs. I want you to have many more good days then bad. I want you to be gentle yet strong. I want you to be compassionate towards others and yourself. I want you to be a hard worker but know, and most importantly listen, when you need a break. I want you to believe that there is good in people, because there are very good people out there, but also always be cautious and keep your eyes open. I want you to be humble but proud of yourself for things that matter. I want you to have the courage to chase hard after your dreams and never stop. I want you to be a God-fearing man of character. I want you to have unshakable faith that you can’t help but share. One day when you have a family I want you to not be afraid to show or accept love; the true character of a man shows through the way he loves his wife and children. I want you to be able to look back on your life and smile.

What I am saying is,

I want the best for you in every way possible but I don’t want it to always be easy, because struggle builds character.

I promise I will do everything that I can to mold you into a good solid young man. I love the quote “I am not your friend. I am your Mother. I will stalk you, flip out on you, lecture you, drive you insane, be your worst nightmare and hunt you down when needed because I LOVE YOU! When you understand that, I will know you are a responsible adult. You will never find someone who loves, prays, cares and worries about you more than I do!” I will do my very best for you every single day. That is my promise to you little bug. You will be my biggest challenge and greatest adventure.

Mommy LOVES YOU!

Leave a Reply

